Loading Events

« All Events

IODA Workshop Part 1 | The Hofstede Model and the Process of Cultural Confluence

May 11 @ 14:00 15:30

Start time where you are: Your time zone couldn’t be detected. Try reloading the page.

Join us for this two-part series of workshops led by Alette Vonk, lecturer at Leiden University (Netherlands) and independent consultant in Intercultural Management. The first workshop on May 11th is geared towards creating an understanding of cultural differences and similarities. After an introduction of what culture is, the Hofstede model is used to demarcate some of the main areas of variance. In subgroups you will discuss the practical outcomes of such variance with cases: can you recognize and understand a different logic?

During the second workshop on June 8th, we will practice the creation of spaces of confluence. Confluence is a process, and this process will be introduced with the example of a Portuguese Country Manager in Angola. Participants will subsequently actively go through the process based on their own experiences, which can be shared in subgroups and in plenary.

ABOUT ALETTE

Alette Vonk is a lecturer at Leiden University and an independent consultant in Intercultural Management. A development sociologist by education, she has worked within the development sector in West-Africa for ten years, primarily in the field of organizational change (Benin and Ghana). After returning to the Netherlands she has worked extensively with grass roots migrant groups in the field of emancipation, integration, anti-radicalization and community development. Today she is part of the Friends of Hofstede and gives training and advice to businesses and organizations with an international character.

Recently she published the book ‘Cultural confluence in organizational change’, together with a Portuguese Country Manager, who had been able to integrate Angolese forms of organization and leadership into his Portuguese subsidiary in Angola. Cultural variance remains an ever-fascinating source of inspiration to Alette, calling for a lifelong learning journey and she’s always on the look-out for deeper meaning and for spaces of confluence.

EVENT DETAILS

Date: Saturday 11th May

Length: 90 minutes

Cost: This workshop will be free of charge for members of IODA and U$D15 for non-members.

Time: 12:00 GMT | 14:00 Amsterdam | 08:00 New York | 20:00 Singapore. You can check your specific time zone HERE.