Loading Events

« All Events

IODA Workshop Part 2 | The Hofstede Model and the Process of Cultural Confluence

June 8 @ 14:00 15:30

Start time where you are: Your time zone couldn’t be detected. Try reloading the page.

After Part 1 of Alette Vonk´s workshop on May 11th, which is geared towards creating an understanding of cultural differences and similarities, we invite our community to join Part 2 on Saturday June 8th, during which we will practice the creation of spaces of confluence.

Confluence is a process, and this process will be introduced with the example of a Portuguese Country Manager in Angola. Participants will subsequently actively go through the process based on their own experiences, which can be shared in subgroups and in plenary.

ABOUT ALETTE

Alette Vonk is a lecturer at Leiden University and an independent consultant in Intercultural Management. A development sociologist by education, she has worked within the development sector in West-Africa for ten years, primarily in the field of organizational change (Benin and Ghana). After returning to the Netherlands she has worked extensively with grass roots migrant groups in the field of emancipation, integration, anti-radicalization and community development. Today she is part of the Friends of Hofstede and gives training and advice to businesses and organizations with an international character.

Recently she published the book ‘Cultural confluence in organizational change’, together with a Portuguese Country Manager, who had been able to integrate Angolese forms of organization and leadership into his Portuguese subsidiary in Angola. Cultural variance remains an ever-fascinating source of inspiration to Alette, calling for a lifelong learning journey and she’s always on the look-out for deeper meaning and for spaces of confluence.

EVENT DETAILS

Date: Saturday 8th June

Length: 90 minutes

Cost: This workshop will be free of charge for members of IODA and U$D15 for non-members.

Time: 12:00 GMT | 14:00 Amsterdam | 08:00 New York | 20:00 Singapore. You can check your specific time zone HERE.