IODA News

Your Unique Cultural Lens Workshop

A GUIDE TO CULTURAL COMPETENCE AND WORKSHOP FOR IODA MEMBERS

BY ENRIQUE J. ZALDIVAR AND KATIE ROZNER


Recent events are inspiring people to examine the unspoken rules that define culture and have been impacting race and gender relations for generations. Local, national, and global discourse is elevating these thoroughly embedded and largely subconscious elements of culture to society’s attention. This has increased the need to explore how these deeply systemic cultural elements affect who you are and how you interact with others personally and professionally.

Are you ready to dive into the collection of filters that create your cultural perspective, so you can own who you are and better affect positive change that engages, inspires, and motivates others within your organization or client systems?

We all want to be respected for who we are and the cultural context we bring with us. We long to feel seen, heard, and appreciated. Your clients and teammates do too. The key to achieving this is to fully understand and own who you are, so that in the face of difference you can connect more authentically in a way that respects others and yourself.
 
The Unique Cultural Lens (UCL) Workshop offers a proven framework and transformational experience to do this. During the workshop, you will deepen your self-awareness and gain the power to change your mind and your behavior, enhancing your ability to align your impact on others with your intent. That cultural competence, in today’s highly complex and increasingly diverse world, gives us a competitive advantage as OD consultants and enriches our lives, our clients and the world.

REQUIREMENTS
Be an IODA-member in good standing.
Read and do the exercise described in the UCL Book (less than US$10 in Kindle), available in English and Spanish: http://www.amazon.com/author/ejzaldivar/.
Commit to attend all its three sessions since they build on each other as a cohort.

DATES
Session 1: Intro & Assignments
August 29, 2020
Session 2: The Exercise             
September 12, 2020
Session 3: Key Insights 
October 24, 2020
TIME ZONES
06.45 AM Pacific Time, US
09.45 AM East Coast, US
10.45 AM Santiago, Chile
03.45 PM Berlin, Budapest, Europe
03.45 PM Cape Town, South Africa 
07.15 PM India
09.45 PM Taiwan
11.45 PM Melbourne, Australia

Given different dates around the world for the end of Daylight Savings Time, please check your local time.

Sign up for UCL Workshop  


Enrique J. Zaldivar,
founding partner of Inspired-Inc., professor at AU-MSOD and author of Your Unique Cultural Lens (2020), is convinced that effective leaders as well as effective OD consultants create culturally appropriate conditions for organizational success that produce results as well as sustainable, effective and rewarding workplaces. 

Katie Rozner,
OD consultant and leadership coach with Inspired-Inc., focuses on cultural competence and leadership development, and comes alive by partnering with individuals and teams to help them achieve greater efficiency, effectiveness and health.  


 

Sign up for the UCL Workshop  

BECOME  PART OF THE GLOBAL OD COMMUNITY
You are not an IODA member yet and would like to become a proud supporter of this global OD network? Your membership has expired? Register or renew online today.
As IODA member respond to this email or contact SILKE and find out more about your current membership status.